Kathleen Dean Moore and Craig Childs
In conversation with William Deverell
June 6, 2012

Two celebrated writers deeply influenced by the riparian and other landscapes of the American West will read from their work and explore how storytelling, in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson, can give voice to natural resources. Activist and award-winning author Kathleen Dean Moore discusses her newest book Moral Ground: Ethical Action for a Planet in Peril and Craig Childs, the author of more than a dozen acclaimed books on nature and science, reflects on expedition adventures from Colorado to Tibet.

This program was part of the series The Elemental West: Fire, Water, Air, Earth.

Co-sponsored by the Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West

Listen
Subscribe
Share on

Explore

Podcast | July 10, 2012

Crazy Brave: A Memoir

Joy Harjo

In her memoir, Harjo, an internationally known performer and writer of the Mvskoke/Creek Nation, explores her own journey to becoming…

Podcast | July 25, 2017

Resist, Disrupt, Transgress: Four Poets

Chiwan Choi, Natalie J. Graham, Ashaki M. Jackson, TK Lê

This podcast captures an electrifying evening of poetry as four bold writers from diverse backgrounds come together on the stage…

Podcast | October 21, 2010

Writing in Latino: A National Conversation

Susana Chávez-Silverman, Rubén Martinez, and Luis J. Rodriguez

What is Latino literature? Who writes it? Who reads it? Explore a rich literary tradition of five centuries of writing…

Podcast | March 22, 2011

Art Collectives and the Current State of Literary Culture

Chuck Rosenthal, Alicia Partnoy, Ramón Garcia, & Gail Wronsky. Projected paintings by Gronk

A reading and panel discussion Moderated by Susan Salter Reynolds, L.A. Times book reviewer With Chuck Rosenthal, Alicia Partnoy, Ramón…

Podcast | June 20, 2013

El Planeta–From Plankton to Afghanistan: A Poetry Reading

Juan Felipe Herrera

In his newest book, Senegal Taxi, California’s Poet Laureate—and teacher and activist—turns his gaze to Africa. For this special evening,…


Top of Page