Kathleen Dean Moore and Craig Childs
In conversation with William Deverell
June 6, 2012

Two celebrated writers deeply influenced by the riparian and other landscapes of the American West will read from their work and explore how storytelling, in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson, can give voice to natural resources. Activist and award-winning author Kathleen Dean Moore discusses her newest book Moral Ground: Ethical Action for a Planet in Peril and Craig Childs, the author of more than a dozen acclaimed books on nature and science, reflects on expedition adventures from Colorado to Tibet.

This program was part of the series The Elemental West: Fire, Water, Air, Earth.

Co-sponsored by the Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West

Listen
Subscribe
Share on

Explore

Podcast | October 10, 2017

An American Genocide:
California Indians, Colonization, and Cultural Revival

Benjamin Madley

There’s one major aspect of the popular Gold Rush lore that few Californians today know about: during that period, California’s…

Podcast | June 15, 2010

John Ashbery’s Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror

Joan Arnold, Tom Curwen, David Kipen, Louise Steinman, Terry Wolverton

A staged reading of John Ashbery’s great, dense work-one of the defining poems of the 20th century. Six readers, accompanied…

Podcast | July 10, 2012

Crazy Brave: A Memoir

Joy Harjo

In her memoir, Harjo, an internationally known performer and writer of the Mvskoke/Creek Nation, explores her own journey to becoming…

Podcast | July 25, 2017

Resist, Disrupt, Transgress: Four Poets

Chiwan Choi, Natalie J. Graham, Ashaki M. Jackson, TK Lê

This podcast captures an electrifying evening of poetry as four bold writers from diverse backgrounds come together on the stage…

Podcast | October 21, 2010

Writing in Latino: A National Conversation

Susana Chávez-Silverman, Rubén Martinez, and Luis J. Rodriguez

What is Latino literature? Who writes it? Who reads it? Explore a rich literary tradition of five centuries of writing…


Top of Page