Kathleen Dean Moore and Craig Childs
In conversation with William Deverell
June 6, 2012

Two celebrated writers deeply influenced by the riparian and other landscapes of the American West will read from their work and explore how storytelling, in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson, can give voice to natural resources. Activist and award-winning author Kathleen Dean Moore discusses her newest book Moral Ground: Ethical Action for a Planet in Peril and Craig Childs, the author of more than a dozen acclaimed books on nature and science, reflects on expedition adventures from Colorado to Tibet.

This program was part of the series The Elemental West: Fire, Water, Air, Earth.

Co-sponsored by the Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West

Listen
Subscribe
Share on

Explore

Podcast | November 9, 2017

La Lengua Sin Frontera (Language Without Borders): Three Indigenous Poets

Natalie Diaz, Layli Long Soldier, Natalia Toledo

THIS PROGRAM WAS CONDUCTED IN BOTH SPANISH AND ENGLISH. Join us for an evening celebrating indigenous poetry from the United…

Podcast | October 21, 2017

Threat of Extinction: Language Activism and Preservation

Bob Holman, Vincent Medina, Odilia Romero Hernández, and Virginia Carmelo with linguist Leanne Hinton

THIS PROGRAM WAS CONDUCTED IN BOTH SPANISH AND ENGLISH. The essence of who we are is wrapped up in our…

Podcast | October 10, 2017

An American Genocide:
California Indians, Colonization, and Cultural Revival

Benjamin Madley

There’s one major aspect of the popular Gold Rush lore that few Californians today know about: during that period, California’s…

Podcast | June 15, 2010

John Ashbery’s Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror

Joan Arnold, Tom Curwen, David Kipen, Louise Steinman, Terry Wolverton

A staged reading of John Ashbery’s great, dense work-one of the defining poems of the 20th century. Six readers, accompanied…


Top of Page