Kathleen Dean Moore and Craig Childs
In conversation with William Deverell
June 6, 2012

Two celebrated writers deeply influenced by the riparian and other landscapes of the American West will read from their work and explore how storytelling, in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson, can give voice to natural resources. Activist and award-winning author Kathleen Dean Moore discusses her newest book Moral Ground: Ethical Action for a Planet in Peril and Craig Childs, the author of more than a dozen acclaimed books on nature and science, reflects on expedition adventures from Colorado to Tibet.

This program was part of the series The Elemental West: Fire, Water, Air, Earth.

Co-sponsored by the Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West

Listen
Subscribe
Share on

Explore

Podcast | October 21, 2010

Writing in Latino: A National Conversation

Susana Chávez-Silverman, Rubén Martinez, and Luis J. Rodriguez

What is Latino literature? Who writes it? Who reads it? Explore a rich literary tradition of five centuries of writing…

Podcast | March 22, 2011

Art Collectives and the Current State of Literary Culture

Chuck Rosenthal, Alicia Partnoy, Ramón Garcia, & Gail Wronsky. Projected paintings by Gronk

A reading and panel discussion Moderated by Susan Salter Reynolds, L.A. Times book reviewer With Chuck Rosenthal, Alicia Partnoy, Ramón…

Podcast | June 20, 2013

El Planeta–From Plankton to Afghanistan: A Poetry Reading

Juan Felipe Herrera

In his newest book, Senegal Taxi, California’s Poet Laureate—and teacher and activist—turns his gaze to Africa. For this special evening,…

Podcast | March 12, 2013

The Great Animal Orchestra

Bernie Krause

Krause, a musician and naturalist and one of the world’s leading experts in natural sound, explores how the myriad voices…

Podcast | May 16, 2017

The Evolution of Beauty

Richard Prum

Deep in tropical jungles around the world are birds with a dizzying array of appearances and mating displays—from pheasants with…